Alone at Wukoki

This is another shot from Wupatki National Monument. The structure in the distance– the Wukoki Pueblo–is probably my favorite ruin in the park that is accessible to the public (There are several ruins in the area that aren’t on the guide map that’s given to visitors upon entry to the park. I’ve discovered many just by scanning the horizon with binoculars). Captured before sunrise on Labor Day weekend, 2009, I didn’t think much of this shot when I took it. I was disappointed with the lack of drama in the sky and thinking it wasn’t a very colorful sunrise. I must have not been awake yet because when I downloaded my shots after the trip I was pleasantly surprised by the glow of the flowering brush and the colors in the sky.

Archival prints of this photo are available for sale. For information, email mcapurso@cox.net
Leave a Reply

