The Unknown Pueblo

It was still dark when I climbed up the boulder strewn ridge below this 900 year old pueblo. Stepping only on rock surfaces to leave as little evidence of my visit as possible, I reached the top just as the rain began to fall. I stood there shivering in the rain, my camera protected from the elements by a hi-tech device commonly known as a zip-lock freezer bag. The wall of clouds just above the horizon lit up as the sun rose behind them, but there was still not enough light to illuminate my sacred subject. The rain let up and I remained in position, hoping my patience would pay off. Eventually, the sun shone through a small opening in the dark wall of clouds, creating a warm glow on the sandstone bricks before me.

Archival prints of this photo are available for purchase.
For information, email mcapurso@cox.net
3 thoughts on “The Unknown Pueblo

Leave a Reply

