Zion, Off the Beaten Path

After a morning of shooting fresh snow on red rocks, I returned to this prairie that I’d passed several times in the previous days. I had suspected that it might be a good spot for a sunset photo, but I hadn’t been able to get there in time for the good light until now. I hurried out into the tall grass with my tripod and camera and started looking for a good composition, only to find that the distant hoodoos appeared too small in my wide-angle lens. Damn. The light was already very good, so the only thing to do was run! I picked up my gear and sprinted through the brush, ignoring the possibility of unseen chuck holes or venomous snakes. When I reached a good spot and started shooting, the tall grass was still partially lit (see my panorama page for an example). This shot was taken just minutes before the sun sank below the horizon. 

4 thoughts on “Zion, Off the Beaten Path

Leave a Reply

