Sinagua Twilight

I stood in complete solitude on the prairie as the evening breeze moved the brush around me. I’d been exploring a shallow canyon adjacent to the ruins on the north side of Wupatki National Monument. Late afternoon failed to provide any special lighting, and the sunset was grey and colorless. As I hiked back to my truck (the Nissan Pathfinder LE with moon roof, satellite radio and newly rebuilt transmission) the western sky began to glow. I wondered if there was enough light left to capture the prairie that lie between myself and the San Francisco Peaks on the horizon. The black volcanic soil under my feet was an extreme contrast to the relatively bright sky, so I had to combine two exposures to create this picture.     

One thought on “Sinagua Twilight

Leave a Reply

