Exploring Box Canyon

The Box Canyon ruin lies just a few yards from the Lomeki ruin (featured in my last post). I’d hiked the length of the canyon before and wondered how I could capture it in an interesting way. I like that the canyon leads your eye to the San Francisco Peaks in the distance. On this day, I had just finished shooting Lomeki, and decided to make my way along the canyon again. The sun had found it’s way through the clouds in time to give me this brilliant light. In the foreground, a small Juniper Pine fights to survive in the unforgiving conditions of this high desert. In the distance, (on the small hill to the left) an unnamed ruin glows red in the last light of the day.

Leave a Reply

