Was it Supposed to Rain?

The dirt mining road snaked higher and higher up the mountain, not far from Sunset Crater National Monument. Each time I rounded a corner I was treated to a new and more spectacular view. The sun lit the wild sunflowers lining the edge of the road, but I was fairly satisfied with the hundreds of sunflower shots I’d taken over the past few days so I didn’t stop. As the road changed direction and started heading north, a huge wall of dark clouds came into view. I was awestruck by the contrast between the brightly lit scenery that surrounded me and the ominous darkness quickly moving my way.

Leave a Reply

