Living for The Light II

I recently spent some time exploring Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument in southern Arizona. I’d wanted to visit this park for years, but it’s location (the parks southern boundary is the U.S./Mexico border) concerned me. I’d read that parts of the area were closed because of drug smuggling and undocumented immigrant activity. But after finally speaking to a park ranger while on a recent trip to Mexico, I learned that I actually had little reason for concern.

Conditions looked very promising on my first day there, but as the afternoon wore on, the cumulus clouds that had filled the sky all day gradually rolled away. As I hiked deep into the desert, I knew that I was not going to be able to use a dramatic sky to help create an interesting photo. I crossed a wide expanse of flat, lush desert, densely populated with mature saguaro cacti. Finally, I reached a slope at the foot of the Ajo Mountains. Climbing a few feet to gain an impressive view of the desert I’d just crossed, I looked back and noticed the glow of all the plant life behind me. Capturing that beauty would not be easy, however, for pointing a camera directly into the sun usually doesn’t produce favorable results. I found that if I positioned the camera precisely in the shade of a giant saguaro (tall thin objects like giant saguaro don’t produce very large areas of shade to work within!) I could avoid the sun hitting my lens and creating all kinds of glare. I was able to put together this composition just as the sun was about to sink behind the distant mountains. I hope you like it.

Click on the photo for a better view.

IMG_1994

2 thoughts on “Living for The Light II

Leave a Reply

