Standing in the Shadows

I’d visited this isolated location overlooking the Colorado River for the first time last spring. I had little trouble finding it at the time, paying close attention to written directions and resetting my trip meter at each waypoint. So last month—when I decided it was time for another visit—I was confident I’d have no trouble finding it again. Wrong. After an hour of trying to find my way out of the maze of seldom-traveled jeep roads that crisscrossed this desolate Navajo back country, I finally managed to back track to a familiar point along the route. I turned off the radio, reset the trip meter, re-read the directions, and concentrated on the route before me.

30 minutes later I was standing on the edge of the towering cliffs above the canyon. The haze from distant wildfires was a disappointing sight. I didn’t think I would be able to clearly capture the features of the distant landscape, so I concentrated on putting together a shot that focused on features closer to me. The row of spot-lit buttes reminded me of dimly lit faces of people standing in shadows.

Enjoy, and thanks for visiting!

Please click on the photo for a better view.

IMG_8249

2 thoughts on “Standing in the Shadows

  1. I just looked at all of your photos-absolutely breathtaking! I’ve been to many of the sites and I love AZ-recently bought a winter residence in Tucson so my wife & I are now snowbirds. Family keeps us in NJ. 🙂 Keep up the great photos & maybe we’ll see you in Phoenix one day.

    • Thank you so much, Tom & Terri! You know, one of the reasons I find the southwest so fascinating is that I grew up and lived in the northeast until I was in my early 40s. Give me a shout if you’re ever in the Phoenix area!

Leave a Reply

