Wukoki Sunrise #72

DSC_3077

I finally had an opportunity to create some new images over the holiday weekend. Wupatki National Monument is a “go to” sunrise location whenever I get a chance to head north for a few days, and the Wukoki Pueblo is probably my favorite site there. I arrived while it was still dark, hoping to take some photos of the Milky Way over the ruins. Storm clouds above canceled that plan, so I spent some time wandering around the site while I waited for the sun to rise. When it finally began to get light, the sky turned an eerie shade of orange and the landscape took on a soft, warm glow. I’ve been to this spot many times over the past 10 years, but these were the most interesting conditions I’d ever seen there.

2 thoughts on “Wukoki Sunrise #72

Leave a Reply

