Sandstone Steps

I don’t think many landscape photographers would say that they actually enjoy leaving the comfort of their warm sleeping bag an hour or two before sunrise, especially on a really cold morning. But that’s what you have to do if you want to be at an optimal spot to capture the warm light of the rising sun. I’m almost always tempted to shut off my alarm, roll over and go back to sleep.  When the alarm clock wins and I get myself to an interesting location, it’s so satisfying to stand on a hillside (or in this case, a petrified sand dune) and watch the rising sun slowly caress the scenery before me with its warm glow.
Snow Canyon, Utahdsc_4479

2 thoughts on “Sandstone Steps

  1. Just wanted to say how much I enjoy and appreciate your website. Utah/Az/Co/Wy is my favorite place to photograph but I rarely get to visit. Aside from the break from looking at the anti-climatic Oklahoma landscape- your site helps me visualize many places I read about visiting and photographing. Thanks for taking the time to share it with us.

    • Thank you so much for your very kind comment, Otis. It’s very rewarding to hear that are appreciated by another photographer who loves the southwest as much as I do. Even though I live here, I do not get to get out and shoot as often as I’d like, nor do I get to visit as many different locations as I’d like, so I can somehow relate to your frustration. But I’m sure that there must be some beauty to be found and photographed in OK. You just have to look harder. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

